Home Health Aide Training Requirements by State

Download: State Home Health Aide Training Requirements

Home Health Aide Training Requirements, 2014

StateMinimum Training HoursMinimum Clinical Hours
Alabama 75 16
Alaska 140 80
Arizona 75 16
Arkansas 75 16
California 120 20
Colorado 75 16
Connecticut 75 16
Delaware 75 16
District of Columbia 75 16
Florida 75 16
Georgia 75 16
Hawaii 100 70
Idaho 120 40
Illinois 120 40
Indiana 75 16
Iowa 75 16
Kansas 110 45
Kentucky 75 16
Louisiana 75 16
Maine 180 70
Maryland 100 40
Massachusetts 75 16
Michigan 75 16
Minnesota 75 16
Mississippi 75 16
Missouri 75 16
Montana 91 25
Nebraska 75 16
Nevada 75 16
New Hampshire 100 60
New Jersey 76 16
New Mexico 75 16
New York 75 16
North Carolina 75 16
North Dakota 75 16
Ohio 75 16
Oklahoma 75 16
Oregon 75 16
Pennsylvania 75 16
Rhode Island 100 20
South Carolina 75 16
South Dakota 75 16
Tennessee 75 16
Texas 75 16
Utah 100 24
Vermont 80 30
Virginia 75 16
Washington 85 50
West Virginia 75 16
Wisconsin 120 32
Wyoming 91 16

Background

Federal legislation (42 CFR 484.36) requires that Medicare-certified home health agencies employ home health aides who are trained and evaluated through training programs approved by their state. Federal regulations require that these training programs consist of at least 75 hours of training, including at least 16 hours of supervised practical or clinical training and 12 hours of continuing education per 12 month period.

Federal regulations also list the subject areas and skills to be taught, outline the qualifications for approved trainers and define the competency evaluation process.

In its recent report on the adequacy of the healthcare workforce for older Americans (Retooling for an Aging America, 2008), the Institute of Medicine (IOM) recommends that “Federal requirements for the minimum training of certified nursing assistants (CNAs) and home health aides should be raised to at least 120 hours and should include demonstration of competence in the care of older adults as a criterion for certification” (Recommendation 5-1).

Findings

» Of all states, 34 and the District of Columbia do not require more than the minimum federal standard of 75 hours, a standard which has not been changed in 20 years.

» Though 16 states exceed the federal minimum for training hours, only 6 of those meet the standard suggested by the IOM of 120 hours.

» Federal standards for Certified Nurse Aide training have also remained at 75 hours for the past 20 years. However, 30 states and the District of Columbia have exceeded these minimum standards for Certified Nurse Aide training hours. By comparison, relatively little progress has been made towards meeting the improved standards for Home Health Aide training recommended in the IOM report.

Citations

Alabama: Follows the Federal Code of Regulations: CFR Title 42, Vol. 3, 484.

Alaska: Alaska Administrative Code, Title 7, 12.519.

Arizona: Arizona Revised Statutes, Title 36, Article 2, 36.2939 (B.2.a).

Arkansas: Follows Federal Code of Regulations: CFR Title 42, Vol. 3, 484.

California:  California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Division 5, Chapter 6, §74747.

Colorado:  Code of Colorado Regulations, 10 CCR 2505‐10 8.525.  

Connecticut: Connecticut Department of Public Health Regulations, Public Health Code, Title 19‐13‐D69.

DC: District of Columbia Municipal Regulations, Title 22‐B, Chapter B39, §3915.

Delaware: Delaware Administrative Code, Title 16, §4406.

Florida: Florida Administrative Code, Rule Chapter 59A‐8.0095.

Georgia: Follows Federal Code of Regulations: CFR Title 42, Vol.3, 484.

Hawaii: Hawaii Administrative Rules, Title 11, Chapter 97, Section 1.

Idaho: Idaho Administrative Code, IDAPA 16.03.07.  

Illinois: Illinois Administrative Code, Title 77, §245.70; 77 IL Admin. Code §395.150.

Indiana: Indiana Code 16‐27‐1.5‐1

Iowa:  Follows Federal Code of Regulations: CFR Title 42, Vol. 3, 484.

Kansas: Kansas Administrative Regulations 28‐51‐100.

Kentucky: Follows Federal Code of Regulations: CFR Title 42, Vol.3, 48Louisiana: Follows Federal Code of Regulations: CFR Title 42, Vol.3, 484.

Maine: Code of Maine Rules, 10‐144, Chapter 119.

Maryland: Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 10.39.01.08.

Massachusetts: Follows Federal Code of Regulations: CFR Title 42, Vol. 3, 484.

Michigan: Follows Federal Code of Regulations: CFR Title 42, Vol. 3, 484.

Minnesota: Minnesota Administrative Rules, 4664.0260.

Mississippi: Follows Federal Code of Regulations: CFR Title 42, Vol. 3, 484.

Missouri: Follows Federal Code of Regulations: CFR Title 42, Vol. 3, 484.

Montana: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Policies and Procedures, State Certification of Competency for Home Health Aides.

Nebraska: Nebraska Administrative Code, Title 175, 14‐006.04G5.

Nevada: Nevada Department of Health & Human Services, Medicaid Service Manuals, 1403.8.

New Hampshire: New Hampshire Code of Administrative Rules, Chapter He‐W 553.

New Jersey: New Jersey Administrative Code, Title 13:37‐14.4.

New Mexico: New Mexico Administrative Code, 7.28.2.30.C.

New York:  New York Codes, Rules, and Regulations (NYCRR), Title 10, § 700.2., New York State Department of Health

North Carolina: Division of Medical Assistance, Medicaid Clinical Coverage Policies and Provider Manuals, Clinical Coverage Policy No.: 3A (6.2).

North Dakota: North Dakota Administrative Code, 33.03.10.1.18.

Ohio: Ohio Administrative Code, 5160-12-03.

Oklahoma: Oklahoma Administrative code, Title 310, 677-9-4.

Oregon: Oregon Administrative Rules, 410‐127‐0020.

Pennsylvania: Follows Federal Code of Regulations: CFR Title 42, Vol. 3, 484.

Rhode Island: Rhode Island Rules and Regulations, R23‐17‐HNC/HC/PRO.South Carolina: Follows Federal Code of Regulations: CFR Title 42, Vol. 3, 484.

South Dakota: South Dakota Administrative Code, 67‐16:05:01.

Tennessee: Rules of the Tennessee Department of Health, Board of Licensing Health Care Facilities, Chapter 1200.08.26.

Texas: Texas Administrative Code, Title 40, Part 1, Chapter 97, Sub-Chapter D, §97.701.

Utah: Utah Administrative Code, Rule R432-700-22.

Vermont: Regulations for the Designation and Operation of Home Health Agencies, Part X, 10.1.

Virginia: Virginia Administrative Code, Title 12, Agency 30, Chapter 50, Section 160.

Washington: Washington Administrative Code, 246- 335-015-23.

West Virginia: Follows Federal Code of Regulations: CFR Title 42, Vol. 3, 484.

Wisconsin: Wisconsin Administrative Code, Chapter DHS 129, Certification of Programs for Training and Testing Nurse Aides, Medication Aides and Feeding Assistants, Subchapter II.

Wyoming: Wyoming Department of Health, Aging Division, Rules for Program Administration of Home Health Agencies, Chapter 9.

Log In / Create Account

Log in to existing account: